It’s a busy time of year, understandable. But I wanted to make sure that the post tributing to 9/11 was posted in September. If more people would like to submit their stories, we can add them later.

Toni:

September 11, 2001 is a day that I, like many others, will never forget.  I have two very specific memories.  One relates to the fact that I was at work and informed shortly after the first tower was hit, that everyone was in our office kitchen watching the coverage on The Today Show.  I went into the kitchen and standing there with my co-workers, I was dumbstruck to see the second tower being hit as well. The surreal part was knowing that my company (Aon) had several hundred employees working on the upper floors of the South Tower, the second tower attacked.  We would later learn over the course of several days that Aon lost 176 employees due to this horrible tragedy.  Since I had only been working at Aon since June, I did not personally know any of those we lost but I certainly felt the pain and sorrow of all those who lost loved ones and friends that day.

My second vivid memory is of talking to Erin that day for several hours in multiple conversations, trying to make sense of what had happened and why.  It was so difficult to be away from her on such an emotional day since my daughter had been away at college for less than a month and she had turned an impressionable 18 just four days earlier.   We just kept asking ourselves how something so atrocious could have occurred at all.
It is good to remember lest we should ever forget the heroic efforts of so many people who tried to save others from the tragedy that befell over 2,700 innocent victims.

 

Me:

 

8th grade. I walked into the American History classroom to see my teacher, Mrs. Rhodes, sitting at a table watching TV. She traditionally had the news on when class started so I thought nothing of it at first. Then I saw the screen. Twin towers, standing stark against a grey sky, smoke billowing out of the left hand tower. I stopped. Stared. Students filed in behind me, all of us confused. We slowly moved to sit down as Mrs. Rhodes begun explaining the scene in front of us: a plane crashed into a tower of the World Trade Center just before class started. We stared, open mouthed and mesmerized, at the TV as the scene progressed.

 

The next hours were a blur. Mrs. Rhodes made comments predicting this act as the start of the third world war, that Columbus could be a target due to a manufacturing plant that made weapons; students scared and requesting to go home; math class with the TV turned off, opening our books to a page with a picture of the Twin Towers; rumors turned truth that a second plane hit the second tower. I can’t even remember going home or talking to my mom…I assume we discussed it, I assume I told her Mrs. Rhodes’ comments.
The next day, stories surfaced regarding students who knew people working in the towers. People who ran late and watched the plane dive into the their place of work while sitting in traffic. People who had not talked with their loved ones since the attacks and weren’t sure if they made it. Some good, most bad, all of it horrible.

 

10 years later and people still remember. It amazes me how most everyone you talk to that was old enough to remember, does. Details that can shake you away from reality and put you back in that fateful morning. My recollection of most of the day might be somewhat blurred but I remember those minutes when I first saw the towers precisely. September 11, 2001: We will never forget.

 

It’s times like these that make me sit back and think of the ones I love and how thankful I am to have all of you.
Love always,
DC

 

PS – feel free to put your stories in the comments section or email me and I’ll add them to the body of the post.
